Facebook: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly

I have all the right to write this post because of my roller coaster relationship with Facebook. What I am using now is my 4th FB account. In the span of 4 years, I have activated and reactivated my FB account because of the following reasons: 

1. Breakup with a girlfriend.
2. Too much noise
3. Had a great word war with my frenemies, which I regret now.
4. I have the tendency to become jealous and envious

I know you have felt at least one or more of the aforementioned reasons. 

Anyway, the longest “fasting” I had with FB is 8 months..the night before my birthday til… (you count, I hate math). Those were the best days of my life, to be honest. The reason? Maybe I really need serenity and peace in my life. 

But it would be too immature for me, a full blown adult, to permanently deactivate FB just for the reason of loath against someone who has traveled the world without spending anything or for a C student friend who collects 4×4 jeeps, not the matchbox but the real thing.

I am a matured person. I can take the heat.

But I have to agree with my alter ego that FB has its own good, bad and ugly.

The Good..

1. Family connection. Yes, relatives are a bit cheesy. Sometimes they’re too gossipy.  But most of the time, they love you no matter what. They will stab you behind your back. But family will always be family. 

2. Professional connection. Post something and opportunities will be appearing all over the place. 

3. A creator’s hub. Yes, create something and post responsibly. 

The Bad…

1. It could be a waste of time. It is fucking addictive. 

2. Your friends who use FB as their twitter account. “I DONT CARE WHAT YOU ATE FOR BREAKFAST! OPEN A BLOODY TWITTER ACCOUNT AND WRITE YOUR USELESS RANTS THERE!”

The Ugly…

When I opened my FB after 8 months, it’s already the planet Jupiter for me. People speak alien. They even look like aliens with all the selfies, duck faces and weird OOTDs. (That monopod is alien, no doubt)

That culture sucks. It is also beautiful. 

At the end of the day, theres no problem with Facebook. The problem is us. 

Nuff said. 

Day 4 of 7

 

Leave a comment