Food Trippin’ in Bicol

Pampanga, my hometown, is known as the culinary capital of the country. I have to agree that the food in Pampanga is undoubtedly tasty and delicious. But for a local of the town, you can’t stop me in searching for an alternate culinary capital– and that is Bicol. I am a bit bias because I am a quarter Bicolano. And here’s my Anthony Bourdain slash Biyahe ni Drew culinary experience in Bicol:

Biggs Diner is the largest fast food chain in the Bicol Region. They are everywhere. I love 50s themed diners as much as I love pubs so Bicol is basically heaven for me. During my 4-day stay in Bicol, I had the chance to try 3 branches– Naga City, Albay and Embarcadero. I also had the chance to enjoy the experience with amazing people I met along the way. Vintage cameras are everywhere as well..

BIGG’S NAGA (with Kuya Jeson)

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

BIGG’S OLD ALBAY (with Ate Jules and Jopz)

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

BIGG’S EMBARCADERO (with Ate Thet)

Image

—-

When you are in Naga, don’t miss the Laing Pizza at Camsur Watersports Complex. Spicy. Tasty. Heavenly. Crunchy. A bit Fishy.

Image

My host, Kuya Jeson bought some rice-based delicacies well known in Naga.

Image

I also had a love affair with the famous soup dish in Naga…the Kinalas.

Image

Bicol is the spice hub of the country. You should definitely try the Sili Ice Cream here:

Image

Image
“Cherry on top” is for babies…

…and the Rice Coffee Ice Cream..

Image

and the Pili Ice Cream.

Image

Our lunch in Let’s Pinangat is also an unforgettable one..

INGAT PINANGAT!

Image

Image

Image

Street foods in Legazpi, Albay.. “The Hepa Lane” haha

ImageImage

There you have it… and I repeat.. Bicol is my alternate culinary capital!

Leave a Reply

