Now who says I am alone?

“Why are you travelling alone? Isn’t that sad?”, asked the Immigration officer at Ninoy Aquino International Airport Terminal 3. I am not surprised that the last Filipino that I will be conversing with for the entire trip asked me that question. I am a bit numb about it. Everybody asks me that question.

To formalize my answer, I’ll be writing here a glimpse of my solo travel in Vietnam.

1. When I say “I travel alone” that doesn’t mean I will not be meeting people. We are social creatures created by a God who loves interaction. People often exaggerate “lone travel” into something extreme like walking in the middle of the desert, carrying a heavy bag while thieves and scoundrels are out there to chase you. 

I met a guy named Nam in Hanoi. Nam is from Ho Chi Minh (formerly Saigon) who is travelling north Vietnam to show his friend (who also goes by the name Nam) around. While eating my sticky rice breakfast in my hotel, Nam was very busy booking a trip to Trang An, 2 hours south of Hanoi. After that, he approached me and asked me where I am from and what are my plans for the day.

“I am from the Philippines. I don’t have plans yet. I want to go to the Perfume Pagoda, though.”

“Oh. You should try Trang An and Bai Dinh instead of Perfume Pagoda. My friend and I will go there today. You want to join us?”

“Yes! I’d love to. As I’ve said, I don’t have plans yet.”, without thinking too much.

Nam is a very smart guy. He knows a lot about Vietnam and he knows his culture and tradition. I never got bored while traveling because his stories are really interesting. He’s also a good photographer. He’s generous enough to give me all his digital photos during our trip.

After the trip, Nam invited me to have dinner and beer with them.

Now who says I am alone?

Image

Image

2. For the nth time, I will say it here.. I AM A COUCHSURFER. I belong to the largest travel community in the world. 

2 months ago, I hosted a Vietnamese guy named Dat during his big trip in the Philippines. Because of his interesting stories about Vietnam, I was able to book a flight there 2 weeks after his stay in our house.

During my 2nd day in Vietnam, Dat fetched me in my hotel and showed me around his beautiful city using his motorbike. I love the motorbike experience because of the fact that Vietnam is one of the countries with the most number of motorbike users.  Dat took me to the religious and historical sites of Hanoi such as the Ho Chi Minh’s Mausoleum, The Temple of Literature and St. Joseph’s Cathedral. We also had Bun Cha for lunch and Traditional Ice Cream for snacks.

Although we just had a very limited time together because of his work, I can say that it’s one of the most unforgettable experience I had during the entire trip.

Now who says I am alone?

Image

Image

3. 1 Lone Traveler + 1 Lone Traveler = No Lone Traveler. 

During my 2nd night in Hanoi, I have decided to watch the Than Long Water Puppet Show near the Hoan Kiem lake. There, I met a Japanese Guy named Daisuke which happened to be my seatmate for the entire show. He is also traveling alone in Vietnam.

After the show, it was raining really hard and I don’t have an umbrella with me. Daisuke volunteered to take me to my Hotel. It was really a kind gesture from a fellow traveler.

Other lone travelers I met during the trip is Luca from Italy and Ibrahim from Kuwait.

Now who says I am alone?

Image

4. Will be writing on a separate post 😉

Leave a Reply

