Reflections on my Spirituality as a 23 year old Millenial

Ok, this post is about ME and my Spirituality.

I will be celebrating my 24th next week and as far as I’m concerned, I need to reflect on some stuffs like what my fellow twentysomethings are doing out there. “We are not getting younger”

My 23rd year is a bit exhausting. Its not really stressful and all, but the information about SPIRITUALITY is too much to handle. But deep down inside, I needed that information. It is in fact, beneficial. I have become more rational. I have become wiser with what to believe. I have become more forgiving…and yes more loving (except for some semi-major ego issues, haha, read the first sentence of this post again)

I also had major paradigm shifts with my beliefs. I am just glad that Jesus and His love is becoming a reality to me. Not because I have to. Not because it was forced to me. But because I have experienced it, backed up with reason.

I have seen and experienced various belief systems (not necessarily religion) which are definitely out of my comfort zone. I have attended the Hare Krishna’s Ratha Yatra Festival where I saw how passionate they are in worshipping their God. I also experienced the mind boggling, hair raising and blissful Inner Dance of the ancient Filipino mystics. I have heard about the new Christian movement called New Monasticism which I really desire to join. And recently, I have heard some BIBLICAL TRUTHS which are HARD TO SWALLOW and yet VERY RELEVANT inside the walls of my own Methodist faith.

Books have been helpful as well. From the very safe Christian books about “how to become rich” and “how to get that sportscar you’ve been dreaming of” by authors with their pictures as a front cover, I shifted to very relevant and relateable Christian books by Donald Miller, Rob Bell (yes, that emergent church freak everybody loves and hates at the same time), Bob Goff, M. Scott Peck and their contemporaries. In contrast, I also tried reading the books which are hard for Christians to accept such as books by Deepak Chopra and Eckhart Tolle. I have read parts of other holy scriptures such as the Tao Teh Ching and the Bhagavad Gita. I find them all amazing.

I thought I was alone in this search for truth. My cousin Jared who grew up as a Pastor’s kid has been with me throughout this stage. I am happy for him that he was able to search for truth at a very young age. My friends are very open about the search. We usually talk about these stuffs everytime we hang out. I feel very blessed that I am surrounded with friends who never get tired on brainstorming spiritual matters.

Given these information, how am I able to put them into perspective? What is TRUTH now?

I don’t have to answer it here. I don’t even have to rush. The search will not end soon and I know God has something more in store for me on my 24th year.

God, thanks for the confusions.
God, thanks for the conflicts.
God, thanks for my doubts.
It led me to the bliss of thinking of you every minute of every day.
I didnt know it is possible until now.

Happy as always.

4 thoughts on “Reflections on my Spirituality as a 23 year old Millenial”

  1. Awesome.

    Like you, I went through something similar at that age. I minored in philosophy in college so I had A LOT of fodder to trudge through! It was so fascinating. The more I studied and learned about other religions, the wiser I felt I became in what I chose. I laugh at my opposing friends who like to say, “Oh, you just are a sheep who believes what your parents told you.” Oh, the contrary, my dear insulting friend; I actually educated myself, searched and searched. It was important that I did this. Thank goodness it turns out my parents were right after all šŸ˜‰ lol

    I highly recommend CS Lewis’s “Mere Christianity” along with other of his works. As a philosophy minor I loved the debate. I loved hearing the devil’s advocate — we have to be challenged to grow intellectually. And CS Lewis does this in that book. I could read it a million times. (And catch something new each time, as the years pass).

  2. Your post here is refreshing. It’s honest, it’s free. That’s part of what Christ gave me as well: freedom. The world is a beautiful place in all its robes and colors, including all the various traditions around the world. Speaking for myself, I still want to go on a Buddhist pilgrimage — to visit the four major holy places of the Buddha. Does that make me a lesser Christian? Nah, it makes me a richer one.

Leave a Reply

