June Meetups

I am an introvert (sort of). Even though I am loud at times, I will always come back to the reality that I prefer to be the quiet guy than being the life of the party. This is a paradox that I face everyday.

Despite this messed up temperament, I realized that meeting people is a productive guilty pleasure. Last month I have met amazing people whose stories of faith and one of a kind adventures made me realize a lot of things. Meeting strangers is a step out of a comfort zone experience; you deviate from your routine, you get a little sleep, you speak straight English (especially if the stranger is from a foreign land).

I want to recall Jerry See Toh from Malaysia who travel to Philippines from time to time for short term mission trips. Conversations with Jerry ignited my passion for mission works.

Image

I also met Xia (or Chris), a shy expat from China. She is more local than I am even though she just moved here a year ago.

Image

There’s something about stories that excites me. Probably it’s because at the end of the day, no matter how diverse we are (and I am speaking in general), we are still connected with each other.

Have you learned something new from a stranger? If yes, please feel free to write it down.

Leave a Reply

