Five Brand New Books for $8

OMF Literature, the leading Christian Book publisher in the country held a book sale for a week. When OMF post a sale, it is indeed a one-hell-of-an-experience sale. So, the frugal spirit inside me took advantage of it. (Special thanks to my cousin Jared for his prompt responses if the author is good or not. Thanks also to my sweet friend Carizza for informing me about the sale)

There are more than 100 titles so I have to choose wisely. Carizza and I spent almost an hour checking titles and back page reviews. Thank God for the following books which will support my current faith walk.

1. The Pursuit of God by A.W. Tozer– I have read the first 2 chapters and I already had a wisdom rush. Take note, Tozer is quoting Christian mystics which made me like him more.

2. Good News About Injustice by Gary Haugen – a review by Donald Miller! I have no reason why this book should not make it on my cart. Kidding aside, I have this feeling that its high time to leave the comfort zone and really INVOLVE in the fight against injustice in this country and the world. Reject apathy!

3. What’s So Amazing about Grace? by Philip Yancey – If grace is an ocean, we are going to sink according to the David Crowder Band. But what’s the real deal about grace aside from being an overused word? This is the main reason why I picked this from the sale shelf.

4. We Shall See God-Charles Spurgeon’s Classic Devotional Thoughts on Heaven by Randy Alcorn – I don’t know, but I shifted from newbie authors to the classics. I believe that we have forgotten about the wisdom that the fathers of our faith contributed. Thanks to Randy Alcorn for writing this book, integrating a Charles Spurgeon theology to it.

5. Holiness Day by Day by Jerry Bridges. If an author is unfamiliar, I read the reviews. John Piper, J.I. Packer, R.C. Sproul and Joni Eareckson Tada are just few of the uber reviewers of this book. Let’s give this a try.

Anyhow, I haven’t read the books myself except for a few chapters on Tozer. I’d be making some reviews after I have read the books.

Leave a Reply

