Do not judge. It’s not our job.

Remember the famous Beatitude of Christ? The one about persecution? Well, Christians love that verse especially if they face persecutions from “non-believers”. I love it too, but probably on a different perspective. Blessed are those who have been persecuted for the sake of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Unfortunately, some of them really felt that they were blessed making it easier for them to judge other people, condemn even. Its very unfair.

I have written about Inner Dance and how it became part of my daily routine. It’s a meditation modality that makes the body dance involuntarily while under a trance-like state.I have to admit that it is not Christian in nature, but I felt more closer to my God. I told this to my friend. My friend told this to her friend. And it goes on and on. Its funny that when the news reached to me it goes something like I am doing yoga, practicing New Age and stepped out from the “Christian Mainstream”. Ok. First and foremost, I don’t do yoga but I believe that Yoga is good for our health. Second, I don’t have any idea  what NEW AGE is. Third, yes, I stepped out of the Christian Mainstream because I cannot stand judgmental people inside Christianity. I prefer to follow Jesus Christ without any religious attachments and commitments.

I also received negative feedback from an evangelical Christian about my tattoo.

Why can’t we just live here to LOVE and not to judge? Why can’t we live in a community where we treat each other as creatures created in the image and likeness of God?

We are not here to judge. It is not our role.

If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. – 1 Corinthians 13:1

4 thoughts on “Do not judge. It’s not our job.”

  1. Hey! This is such a God-thing. I have had a few similar conversations recently. One thing I think we need to remember, though, is that we are supposed to be following Jesus in the context of the church. We are supposed to do it with other believers. Nowhere in the Bible is “following Jesus Christ without any religious attachments and commitments” preached, yet over and over we are told to be a part of the church. I am SO not trying to condemn or judge you at all. Frankly, I think we are (by and large) doing church wrong which causes hurts which leads people to leave. I challenge you, though, that instead of using the sins of other in the church as reason to sin yourself. Yes, neglecting to attach and commit yourself to an established church may be a very different sin, but two wrongs never make a right. I would love to see you take this hurt and frustration and make the church better. Study the New Testament and figure out what church is really supposed to look like and start doing it! If God is for you, who can be against you?

    1. Hey Melissa. i understand that you just want to help, and for that i’m grateful. thank you for your thoughts. those are your opinion, of how you see it, and i respect that. i have my own though. May God bless us both with wisdom. blessings!

  2. I tooooootally get the “don’t judge” bit. I think the desire to judge is mostly human vs religious. I am very sensitive to the plight of the disadvantaged and/or disabled, try hard to live and let live, but still find myself judging “stupid parents” or other people who do things that affect me in a negative way. Then when I make a mistake and hope no one sees it and thinks I’m brainless, I’m reminded that this is exactly how I should be treating others…give them the benefit of the doubt, and, mind your own business!! lol

    The tattoo issue always cracks me up. Growing up in a small midwestern town, tattoos were rare, and usually associated with scary biker gangs or criminals. Now, I’m a combat sports photographer, and if I don’t see someone tattoo’d up, I find it odd. When I’m in a crowd of people, and I see someone with a lot of tattoos, I feel safer, like I’ve found someone I can approach if I needed help. And its just a tattoo. Why do people put so much on those things, especially negatively?

    An acquaintance this weekend told me she was pushing her 10-year-old daughter in an umbrella stroller at a state fair, because it was smaller and easier to navigate in the crowds than her wheelchair. A man passed and said, “Don’t you think she’s a little old to be riding in a stroller?” My friend said, “I’m sorry, she’s in a stroller because she has cerebral palsy and can’t walk.” I hope that judgmental jerk felt like an ass all day long.

    1. Thanks for the comment. I appreciate it.

      I never saw it that way about being safe with tatooed people around, but it makes a lot of sense. Im used to be scared with tattooed people but now that I have one, i feel that i am more like them and see things on a different perspective.

      Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

