Why this is not a travel blog

The boom of seat sales from various airline companies is also the rise of travel blogs hosted by Blogspot, WordPress and the likes. These travel blogs enumerating countless “what’s hot and what’s not?” of a certain country/province are becoming more and more useful for aspiring jetsetters around the world. Personally, I would like to thank the brilliant minds behind these blogs because they have been helpful to me and my little adventures here and abroad.

So why this is not a travel blog?

Aside from the fact that there are already enough travel blogs out there, I realized that sharing my own stories may send a message that every travel is a story worth telling, whether you label your experience a badass or a dumbass.

2 weeks ago, I met this awesome blogger who stayed in our house overnight. His name is Eric. He’s 28 and traveled more than 40 countries in his millennial year.  His blog is remarkable. He’s the modern-day Into the Wild’s Christopher McCandless/Alexander Supertramp. He is not documenting  the “usuals”, but the actual emotions, twists and turns (polytropos) of his travels. You can find Eric’s blog HERE but below are some of my favorites:

Marijuana in Cambodia

– I have read his “A Night on Skid Row” and it left me speechless. It’s a long post, but it’s worth your time.

I’m living in a Chinese slum

and here’s my picture with the future Christopher McCandless (except the death by poison part):

Image

I have written few of my travels here but not as good as Eric’s:

The Unforgettable Khao San Road Experience

Hospitality and New Friends in Central Visayas

– My Parasailing Story in Boracay

Now, it’s your time to share your stories. Pack your bag! Inspire us! Motivate us! Make us laugh!

Image
What if Bag’s could talk? (Eric’s bag resting on our couch.)
2 thoughts on “Why this is not a travel blog”

  1. I sure look silly in that photo :D. Glad you like my stories and thank you for the comparison with McCandless. It is an honor. I can see in you a great desire to explore the world, and I know you will do it! Keep in touch and when you travel come join me, wherever I am 🙂

Leave a Reply

